Saturday, 27 August 2011

ICC announces Test team of the year

 Updated at: 1837 PST, Friday, August 26, 2011
ICC announces Test team of the year

LONDON: Sri Lankan, Kumar Sangakkara was named captain and wicketkeeper for the International Cricket Council’s Test team of the year. England dominated the squad with 11 players in the lineup.

Alastair Cook, Jonathan Trott, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann and James Anderson have all been picked by an ICC panel chaired by former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd.

Dale Steyn makes it into the lineup for the fourth straight year alongside South Africa teammates Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers and Jacques Kallis. India batting great Sachin Tendulkar completes the side. India pace bowler Zaheer Khan was picked as 12th man.

Trott and Cook both made it onto four-man shortlists for the Cricketer of the Year and Test Player of the Year awards.

The team only includes players from five countries and no Pakistani player has been selected.


No comments:

Post a Comment